Jackets, Jackets, and More Jackets

Work has been extremely busy lately with finals starting Thursday.  Posting will have to be put off until then.  I am hoping to take more pictures of other replicas I haven’t gotten to over the break, and work on a few sewing projects.

The post for today deals with jackets.  I love jackets but don’t wear them nearly as much as one would think.  I am still working on building up my movie jacket collection but people ask for crazy amounts when they find out the jackets are in some movie.   Today I am featuring four jackets from two different movies.  Two of these I wear constantly, one occasionally, and one I have never worn…yet.

First up is the BB Dakota lake blue jacket Bella wears in Twilight.

Twilight_Jacket_BBDakota

Everyone knows this jacket, right?

twilight_jacket

This was the second of Bella’s jackets I acquired and after lots of searching as I was a bit behind on collecting her items.  I always through movie clothing looked ordinary but always were brands I couldn’t afford.  Twilight changed that, still it was two years after the movie release that I decided to find the jacket.  I found it, luckily, at Modcloth.com but they no longer carry it.  My tag actually says Jack Dakota but I believe it is the same jacket.  I ordered a medium but somehow got sent a large so it isn’t as fitted on me as it is on Bella.  I’m fine with that since it is my go-to cold weather jacket and I can wear layers and sweaters underneath.

The first Bella jacket I ever bought was her New Moon green cord jacket.

new-moon-bella-swan-hunter-green-corduroy-jacket-and-the-twilight-saga-new-moon-gallery

Of course I bought the Neca replica version from Hot Topic as soon as I saw it.

new_moon_jacket

Like the blue Dakota jacket, I bought this one in a medium so I could wear layers underneath.  This turned out to be a good decision since my shoulders are just a touch broad from my small frame; the small and extra small I tried one just didn’t feel right.

Interestingly when I was checking out the cashier made some comment about how the fact that this jacket was from Twilight detracted her from buying it.  She said that she wanted to buy Bella’s dress but it was “Bella’s dress” and that stopped her from buying it.  I just gave her a smile and left quickly after that.

The last two jackets are different versions of the same, very familiar and very popular jacket: Katniss Everdeen’s District 12 arena jacket.

jennifer_lawrence_katniss_arena_costume

Both jackets are Neca replicas.  The first is the “simple” version, the one I call the windbreaker version.

arena_jacket

And the second is the full replica.

arena_jacket_full

I got both versions off of Amazon.  The windbreaker version I wear in early spring and late fall, when it’s just cool enough for a jacket but still too warm for a thick one.  It holds in heat really well; as such, I have to take it off and air it out often since it isn’t exactly machine wash friendly.  The full version has never been worn and still has the tags on it.  Both are size smalls but they could be smaller (extra smalls, according to the measurements, were only an inch smaller).

There was this little fiasco on Amazon regarding both of these jackets.  The windbreaker version was supposed to retail for $49.99 and the full version for $119.99.  I preordered a jacket for $49.99 and thought I was getting the windbreaker version.  But it was advertised as a “full replica” and had the image that went along with it.  In the month since I preordered the image changed twice.  When it finally arrived (and my cc bill not too long after) I received a full version but was charged for a windbreaker version.  Amazon has since never corrected it.

I had read some reviews that others had the same mix up before I received mine.  Since I wasn’t sure what I was getting, I jumped on Amazon again and bought another jacket for $69.99.  I figured if both jackets turned out the same I would just sell one on eBay.  Turns out this second jacket (which arrived a week after the first) was the windbreaker version.  So, in the end, I got both jackets for a total of $119.98, a penny less than the full replica was supposed to cost.

I love when things like that happen.

3 thoughts on “Jackets, Jackets, and More Jackets

  1. Hi, I’m going to try and purchase the BB dakota jacket in a medium somewhere, and I was wondering what your measurements were and how it fit on you? Or maybe even a picture? I want extra room for layering b/c currently I have an XS and it’s just tooo tight! Hope to hear from you! 🙂

    • My measurements a roughly 32-26-37. My large has plenty of room for layering and then some. If your measurements are close to mine then you should be fine. There are times I wish I had exchanged mine for a medium.

      • Yes i’m actually almost the same. 34 instead of 32. Wow that helped me a lot! Thank you. And I wish I had bought this 3 years earlier when I first saw it instead of being stuck with only an XS available, so I know how frustrating it is.

Leave a Reply

