Bilbo’s Acorn Button Pin

With the release of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, I am beginning to feel a bit of nostalgia.  Ten years ago, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring was released.  At first I was adamant about not watching it.  You see, I’m one of those people that when others talk about something and hype it up I instantly don’t want to see it.  It’s not that I mind spoilers – because I love them – but I don’t like people telling me every little detail about something before I’ve had a chance to see it.

And then there was the hype about how gorgeous Orlando Bloom as Legolas was.

A friend and I went out one night to see a movie.  We were supposed to see Harry Potter (can’t remember which one) but it was sold out for the time we were there and we didn’t want to wait two hours for the next one.  I reluctantly agreed to go see Lord of the Rings since it had just barely started and I didn’t want the night to go to waste.

Best decision ever.

I watched the movie, devoured the books, and started writing fanfiction to satisfy any fangirling.  It was really my first foray into replica purchasing and there are things that I couldn’t afford then being a poor graduate student that as a full time instructor/department chair I am trying to find now.

Now that the first of the Hobbit movies is out, I am attempting to purchase all the LotR items I didn’t get and get some of the new items too.  The first item I received was this beautiful replica pin of Bilbo’s acorn buttons.

SNF10HOBB6_1635196a

I love Martin Freeman, by the way.  I haven’t actually seen The Hobbit (motion sickness prevents me from going to movies in theaters these days), but I love him as Dr. John Watson in the BBC’s Sherlock series.

bilbo_acorn_pin

First off, the quarter is merely for size reference.  The pin is actually larger than the quarter though you can’t really tell in the photo.  The Noble Collection didn’t give any dimensions for the pin (they hardly ever do) so it’s size was rather a surprise.  It’s also quite hefty.  It’s a nice solid piece for its size, but if you purchase this make sure you wear it on something as equally sturdy.

I love this pin.  I have been purchasing items from Noble Collection on and off for the last ten years.  Their items are well made; many are wearable and those that are not are wonderful display pieces.  Their Lord of the Rings inventory is smaller now than it used to be, but with the Hobbit release I can’t wait to see what other items they have coming.

Leave a Reply

