Cold War Clara Oswald Cosplay

Whew!  It’s been a while.  I have been super busy at work which doesn’t leave a lot of time for sewing.  Also, when my mother is home we tend to jump into the Jeep and drive somewhere to hike.  This pretty much means I can only sew when my mother is not around.  Since she’s been overseas attending to family business the last three weeks, I’ve gotten a lot done in preparation for Animazement at the end of May.  It is also exam time; since both of my exams were on the first day, I’ve had a few extra days off to sew.  There is still some stuff left to do, but the majority of my sewing is done.

I’ve got four cosplays to debut at AZ this year, none of them anime/manga related which is a first.  The two kpop cosplays are not quite done so I won’t be posting them just yet.  The remaining two are Doctor Who cosplays focused around the new companion, Clara Oswald.  I love Clara, and Jenna-Louise Coleman is my size and height which makes cosplaying Clara so much easier.  One of the cosplays uses screen accurate clothing I spent hours scouring the internet for.  The items haven’t all arrived so I won’t be posting it here just yet.  The other is Clara’s Cold War outfit.

cold-war-promo1

tumblr_mmcprzGyuP1r9zj37o1_500

Took me about two days to complete this outfit, one day for the dress and the second for the jacket.  The dress is made of an ice blue satin that, depending on the lighting, looks more silvery.  I used Vogue Vintage pattern V1172 for the top of dress and modified the front a bit.  The shoulder straps are wider than Clara’s but they are hidden under the jacket so I didn’t bother to mess with them.  I used a skirt bottom from another pattern to give it more poof.  The amountof fabric needed for the poof prevents the side zipper from closing properly.  I can close it, but it’s needs an extra pair of hands to pull the sides together to do so.  It’s very form fitting.

The jacket is made of black twill and white muslim for lining.  I think the original jacket is dark navy wool, but I could not find a fabric in the color and feel I liked.  The buttons are gold with anchors, which fit since the entire Cold War episode takes place on a submarine.  The sleeves are a tad bit shorter than they should be, but I prefer that since I usually roll up my sleeves to 3/4 length.

I have silver glitter heels on their way from the UK (not the screen accurate ones) and a vintage watch face bracelet I put together from vintage watches purchased on Etsy.  I cannot wait to wear this cosplay!

One thought on “Cold War Clara Oswald Cosplay

Leave a Reply

