Hermione Granger’s OotP Striped Sweater

Finally!  I have finished knitting my first sweater!  Granted I didn’t think it would be this sweater but still.

Just as a reminder, here is the sweater in question.

Picture-1And this is the pattern I used: Hermione Grainbow by J.R. Lockwood on Ravelry.  I used Knit Picks Swish DK in Marble Heather, Peapod, Sugar Plum, Twilight, Carnation, Hollyberry, Honey, and Amethyst Heather on size 6 circular and DP needles.

IMG_4650

IMG_4652

I started knitting this sweater in October of 2012, got so tired of the repetitive stockinette stitch that I stopped, and picked it back up in August of 2013.  It sat in my knitting bag with a finished back and half of a front; when I picked it up again, it took less than a month to finish the front and both sleeves.

That was the easy part.

I am not a fan of picking up stitches, I just don’t like it.  I have a difficult time with it.  I actually had to shush my mom when she tried to ask me a question while I picked up stitches for the collar.  I got the right amount but ended up with a hole in the front on the right side just above the last red stripe.  Easy fix with some scrap gray yarn and a little darning.  The right side of the collar looks a little different from the left, but nothing a scarf or collared shirt can’t hide.

Mattress stitching is entirely new to me.  I had read how to do it but had to watch 4 YouTube videos before it clicked…and that was after I used my typical whipstitch to graft the shoulders together (again, hiding with scarf or shirt).

6 thoughts on “Hermione Granger’s OotP Striped Sweater

  1. Awesome job! I love this sweater!! I made one two years ago that literally just needs to be blocked and somehow I haven’t done it this whole time. You’ve inspired me to get off my ass and finish it!

    • Thanks! I considered blocking mine but it looks fine when I put it on without blocking.

      I’m so honored I inspired you since you are my sewing/knitting inspiration. 😀

Leave a Reply

