Night Terrors Scarf Pattern

I have gotten a lot of request to post my pattern for Amy’s Night Terrors scarf. After cleaning it up, here it is.

6x09-Night-Terrors-amy-pond-25142290-1280-720

The original Noa Noa scarf that the Doctor Who companion Amy Pond wears in the season six episode “Night Terrors” is near impossible to find. Rather than continue a fruitless search for such a simple item, I decided to knit this lovely myself. The pattern is so simple that a beginner knitter will be able to recreate it. The pattern is repetitive and makes for great knitting while watching TV.

The supplies listed are the ones that I used. Make sure to use the appropriate needle size for the yarn that you use. I prefer the weight of a sport or DK weight yarn, but this scarf can be made in a fingering or worsted weight as well. If you decide to use a different weight yarn, your yardage will change as well.

Supplies:
• US size 6 circular or straight needles
• Knit Picks Capra Cashmere in Caviar (1 skein)
• Knit Picks Capra Cashmere in Harbor (5 skeins)
• Knit Picks Capra Cashmere in Black (5 skeins)
• Stitch markers (optional)

Gauge:
Since this is a scarf, gauge isn’t necessary. It is recommended to obtain the gauge for your needle and yarn, but the ribbing will make this scarf quite stretchy.

Abbreviations:
CO: Cast on
K: knit
P: purl
BO: Bind off

Row 1: (k1p1) repeat 6 times, (k2p2) repeat 15 times, (k1p1) repeat 6 times

CO 84 stitches in Caviar, knit row 1 for 4 rows

Switch to Harbor, repeat row 1 for 12 rows
Switch to Black, repeat row 1 for 12 rows
• Repeat the above two color blocks one more time

Switch to Harbor and begin next two rows

Row 2: (k1p1) repeat 4 times, (p4k4) repeat 8 times, p4, (k1p1) repeat 4 times
Row 3: (k1p1) repeat 4 times, (k4p4) repeat 8 times, k4, (k1p1) repeat 4 times

Repeat rows 2 and 3, switching between Harbor and Black every 12 rows until desired length.

End in Harbor color.

Switch to Black, knit row 1 for 12 rows.
Switch to Harbor, knit row 1 for 12 rows.
• Repeat above two color blocks one more time

Switch to Caviar, knit row 1 for 4 rows. BO

Notes: Using Capra and size 6 needles makes a wide scarf (around 9 inches). If you are using a similar weight or heavier weight yarn and do not want your scarf as wide, decrease your cast on stitches to 76. Maintain the border stitches in rows 1-3, but decrease the “inside” stitches of row 1 to 13 repeats and the “inside” stitches of rows 2 and 3 to 7 repeats.

If you are using a lighter weight yarn, you can increase your cast on to 92 stitches. Maintain the border stitches; increase your “inside” stitches in row 1 to 17 repeats and the “inside” stitches of rows 2 and 3 to 9 repeats.

My scarf ended up being 6 feet since I like long scarves I can wind in different ways. How long you make your scarf will determine how much yarn you will need.

It is recommended that you bind off in a stretchy method to maintain the stretch and give of the ribbing. My preferred method is Jenny’s stretchy bind off.

No blocking is necessary. If you do not block, the edges will roll in on the scarf a bit. I   didn’t mind this, but if the roll bothers you then blocking will fix that.

6 thoughts on “Night Terrors Scarf Pattern

  1. I was going to make this scarf, but first wanted to double check the yarn count. To make this scarf it took 11 skeins to knit this scarf to 6ft? Maybe I haven’t had enough coffee yet this morning, but it seems like an awful lot for a scarf this size. Thanks for any help. 🙂

    • I’m a “buy more than you think you will need” type crafter. So, yes, I did buy 11 skeins of yarn for this scarf.

      But, keep in mind, for the edging color (Caviar) you are only knitting four rows each side. Also, I didn’t use up the last skein of Black and Harbor yarns. I have almost three whole skeins of yarn leftover for a stash busting project.

      In truth, when I started this project I only bought half the amount of yarn I specified and had to buy more. I like longer scarves I can loop in different ways (I am 5 foot 2 and the scarf goes down to my knees).

    • It really all depends on you. Capra is a DK weight knitted on size 6 needles. I chose Capra for three reasons: it had the colors I wanted, was at a price point I could live with, and wasn’t pure wool do therefore didn’t irritate my skin. What you choose to use is really up to you. Any weight yarn will do so long as you use the appropriate needle for it (just keep in mind lighter weights will make a thinner scarf and bulkier weights a wider scarf).
      l
      If you are looking for something similar to the Capra, Knit Picks’ Gloss DK is a nice yarn. It’s part merino wool (less skin irritating); Aegean, Black, and Hawk would work nicely together. Since it’s also a DK weight, size 6 needles will work with Gloss just fine.

      Hope that helps!

  2. Do you have a photo of your scarf either finished or in progress? I have heard there are concerns when switching colors in ribbing.

    • Here’s the link to my finished Night Terrors cosplay with the scarf: https://sewkurafty.wordpress.com/2013/09/28/amys-night-terrors-cosplay/

      As you can see, I had no problems with switching colors. You can even see how I twisted yarn strands on one side; I always had two balls of yarn going – one teal and one black – to eliminate how many loose tails there were.

      Are there concerns about my pattern or just switching colors in ribbing on any pattern? I have not heard of any concerns. Personally, I’ve never found switching colors in ribbing difficult. Ribbing actually hides the color changes very easily.

Leave a Reply

