Mary Margaret’s Lace Tam

First completed New Year knitting project!  😀

Once Upon A Time is one of those shows that when I first saw it, I thought “I’m going to watch that.”

And I never did.

Once the Doctor Who 50th anniversary and Christmas specials were over, I had nothing good to watch. Thank goodness for Netflix having seasons 1 and 2 available online.  I watched season 1 during my Christmas break.  One of the things I fell in love with was Mary Margaret’s wardrobe, especially her hats.  Many of them are knitted, so I jumped on Ravelry to find any patterns. Luckily, one of my favorite of her hats was available as a free pattern.

5665_originalI used this pattern and Berroco Ultra Alpaca Fine in steel cut oats (I chose the color to match Mary Margaret’s but to also give me a versatile palate for my wardrobe).  It was a quick knit but took a while with the large number of stitches and small sized needles.

image

I was determined to finish this hat quickly so I could wear it this season, but in doing so I made my right shoulder a bit sore.  I get a bit enthusiastic with certain projects to the point that I physically injure myself; my shoulders and hips frequently protest against my creative endeavors.

image

Since the Ultra Alpaca Fine comes in a skein of 433 yards and I only needed 200 yards for the tam, I have plenty leftover for another hat for a Christmas present.  I am slowly loving working with alpaca blend yarns.  It runs through the fingers and needles so nicely and feels very warm but not itchy on.  I may be doing more projects in alpaca.

Leave a Reply

