Secondhand?

I’m just going to put this out there…

I do not buy or sell anything secondhand.

Many people will think I am being a vain snob when I say that – there are perfectly good items out there at good prices secondhand – but that’s just my nature.  I donate gently worn clothes all the time, I give items to friends all the time, but I never sell anything secondhand.  I also do not buy items secondhand.  It’s just the way I grew up.

I take good care of my things, but I can also be a bit hard on them too.  When I buy things – I mean really take the time to consider the purchase – I keep things for a good long while.  I know I am going to keep something when I waffle back and forth on the logistics of buying something, put it back, don’t think about it for a while, and then suddenly it pops into my head and I buy it.

I also get really reluctant to sell anything because most times I took a long time (and maybe a lot of money) to acquire it.  I also never know what to sell things for.  I don’t believe in selling a screen accurate item for high prices because “it’s rare and everyone is doing it.”  That’s total BS to me.  The original purchase price is never as high as how jacked up the prices can be.

The only times I bought items secondhand was for my Amy cosplays.  The Noa Noa dress was never worn, and the Topshop shirt was only worn once.  I found them both for extremely decent prices and couldn’t pass them up.  I’d never sell them because since I acquired them they have both been damaged (not noticeable but still damaged) and I love them both.

Point is, I have nothing against secondhand; I just don’t do it.  So I apologize for anyone who might be considering purchasing any of my screen accurate items.  They are mine until I give them up for donation or they fall apart on me…most likely the former.

One thought on “Secondhand?

  1. I dont know if the same goes for materials? But I have been buying secondhand items for years now, I’m working on an Elsa-dress and I’ve bought a ‘seetrough-t-shirt’, a lot of ice-icle decorations, 7 meters of voile-fabric, this all didn’t even cost 10 euro’s.
    So…it might not be a good idea if you’re buying ‘new’ dresses and costumes but when you’re crafting I feel like it’s better to buy secondhand, because it’s cheaper and that way, you can buy more, just in case you need more, or mess up, or want to try glue out on fabric, or you mess up and want to start over, etc.

Leave a Reply

