Going Vintage

I am a comfort type of girl. I like comfortable clothes I can move easily in. I wore jeans and shirts all through high school. I wear my pajamas as often as I can. My hiking clothes fit my comfort level, but they don’t necessarily fit my teacher profession.

But I also love pretty things. I love flowy skirts and pretty prints. I love dresses that hug the right curves. I love pretty skirts and blouse tops. I have funky feet but I still adore pretty shoes.

Lately I’ve been wanting to revamp my closet as I own less pretty things than I would like, but I never really knew what I wanted. Then Marvel’s Agent Carter premiered. I have adored Peggy ever since she was in “Captain America: The First Avenger.” Watching the show and her sense of style made me realize that I have an affinity for vintage styles. I have more of the body type of a 1940s and 1950s woman.

So I decided to slowly get rid of the clothes I no longer wear and add pieces with more vintage cuts. Most likely I will be making the pieces but I will attempt to incorporate actual vintage pieces or vintage inspired pieces.

Agent Carter is, of course, my main inspiration. I mean, look at how gorgeous Hayley Attwell is as the famed SSR agent/founder of SHIELD.

ZLu5UhcI love the classic look of all of her pieces. I will be making her blue suit and red fedora number for a comic con. I also love the blue dress she is wearing in the above photo; I am hoping to make it in a knit fabric for a slightly more modern look and feel. Each new episode brings more wardrobe inspiration.

I can’t forget the fact that I also sometimes like the funky, fun pieces I see, especially those worn by Technical Analyst Penelope Garcia (played by Kristen Vangsness) on Criminal Minds.

KIRSTEN VANGSNESSPenelope – and Kristen – is a woman who loves herself, curves and all. I have a classic pear shape (small top and waist, larger hips and thighs) and have always struggled with this shape. Penelope is such an inspiration to someone like me. I totally love the dress she’s wearing in this image; I wish I could find it.

My third fashion inspiration is a fellow cosplayer. Rachael Elle, otherwise known as Moonflower Cosplay or simply moonflowerlights on Instagram. Rachael’s cosplays are amazing; she’s always been so helpful when I ask her questions. But what I really love is her every day vintage style. She has an amazing sense of style, and her shoe collection is crazy awesome (and HUGE). Seeing her outfits has inspired me to take the plunge and revamp my wardrobe. I also love her body confidence – which I doubt I will ever really achieve.

So here’s to hoping that by the end of 2015 I’ll have at least the start of a great, vintage, pretty, and versatile wardrobe.

2 thoughts on “Going Vintage

  1. I love Peggy! Hard to beat the 40s for style, and Peggy Carter rocks. 😀 I’m curious — are you going to buy the Stetson Aviatrix (I just found out it was available last week), or are you going to make the hat yourself? I bought some red wool suiting and a pattern and was planning on trying to fiddle with it to replicate the hat as best I could.

    • I already bought a wine red fedora (a little darker than hers but it fits my complexion a bit better). I plan to change out the ribbon and use steam to flip the brim. I can’t afford the Stetson Aviatrix since I still have to buy fabric and materials for three (!!!) Peggy cosplays and a Tauriel cosplay.

Leave a Reply

